hopesightings

finding hope and sharing it

I Crossed the Line (Continued…Stage 2) December 13, 2016

Filed under: Hope — Brooke F. Sulahian @ 6:56 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

line-in-the-sand

Looking back, the line I crossed is hard to see

– The beginning of this journey

Where have I been, you ask?

On an AMAZING JOURNEY with my Savior

A journey filled with discoveries, discomforts, acceptance, surprises and hope

I am getting to know Him as if for the first time…all over again

I am learning His core truths…again

I simply want to sit with Him…inhale Him…be filled by Him

I want to find Him around every turn in the road…like a child seeking his or her shadow

I am hungering for Him like never before

Wait a minute…

In my excitement, I am getting ahead of myself…Let’s pause here to see how this all came about…

How does God speak to you?

For me He often uses books…this journey? No exception

Chasing Francis (by Ian Morgan Cron)

I came across the title while reading another book

I actually forgot requesting it from the library

I read it anyway…why not? I like to read

This book rocked my heart and spirit as I saw the hard truth about myself

– I had intellectualized my relationship with God

– I was better at DOING my faith than BEING with my Savior

– I missed the active sense of the Holy Spirit indwelling and guiding me

I had gotten off track…again

Incredibly moved and struck by this book, I asked Tim, my husband, to listen to the book on cd

I wanted…needed…someone close with whom to process it

I lacked the words to express my thoughts but knew it was important

I knew God was up to something…something bigger than me

I was struck anew a few weeks later as I approached a Franciscan Guest House for a weekend retreat

A Franciscan Guest House after reading a life-changing book about Saint Francis?

This was no coincidence…

God was up to something new…

But what?

Thank you for walking with me. See more of my journey in my next update

© 2016 Brooke F. Sulahian

 

Leave a Reply

