hopesightings

finding hope and sharing it

Falling Into His Rhythm October 21, 2014

Filed under: Hope — Brooke F. Sulahian @ 5:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

FALL INTO HIS RHYTHM

Woman in boat

Exhausted. Out of breath. My arms ache from the strain.

I keep rowing with all my might. Got to get through. Got to get to where I can see the way ahead again. Got to work harder, faster, and better. Exhausted still.

I have been working so hard to get through this veil of haze that I have not heard it. Have you heard it? The small voice in the wind? The small voice of God inviting us to “Trust Me and fall into My rhythm.” “Trust Me and fall into My rhythm.”

I missed it again. Still rowing…still working hard…still getting tired. Exhausted.

I have been here before. I know it, but that does seem to not help. I guess it helps me to know that I will get through it again with His provision, but why do I get stuck using my own might, relying on my own abilities?

There it is again. The invitation. “Trust Me and fall into My rhythm.” “Trust Me and fall into My rhythm.”

I asked for prayer today. Needed help. Prayer works. This morning I stopped. I listened. The haze is not dark, but beautiful. I had missed that fact. The water is actually smooth with a slight current. I was acting as if I was rowing upstream against a raging river. There is a small breeze. I was too distracted to feel it.

I know I must do the hardest thing. For me, this is so very hard. I must let go. I must let go of my oars. Let go of my striving. Let go and trust.

This morning, I did it. I stopped and pulled my oars into the boat. I forced myself to lie back and let God push and steer my boat with his gentle breeze. No longer fighting…at least not in this moment.

I must to do this all day. Each day. I must choose to let go. He has a plan for me. I cannot live it out if I take over, if I try to do it on my own.

My oars are in my boat. Where are yours?

© 2014 by Brooke F Sulahian

 

Leave a Reply

